One, Two, Three, Four…and More

Two things I’ve done this week – well, actually three that have to do with personal entertainment….hmmm, maybe four.  The first thing is that I finished that loong serial by Randy Wayne White – all 19 books – starring that hunky Doc Ford and his stoner friend Tomlinson.  While I’m glad I’m finished and ready for the next series (CJ Box’s Joe Pickett series), I sure hope there’s more adventures starring the Doc.  The second thing is that I’ve actually finished the first two Pickett novels, and enjoying his third, Winterkill so I’m well into that series now.  That Joe – he’s so…human.  Love his wife, too.  Great series – I can just about smell those Wyoming “hills” while I’m reading.

The third thing is that I think I mentioned that my husband gave me the Google Nexus 7 for my birthday and I’ve been having a heck of a ball with it.  I’ve filled that sucker up with all kinds of apps – both reading and games – but the one I’m enjoying right now is Jewel Quest Heritage.  I remember playing JQ several years ago on my husband’s big desk top computer and played that one to the bitter end.  Now, it’s a much smaller screen, but still just as sharp as I remember from the past.  This one has the same main character plus his wife and daughter and they are still trying to put the Jewel Board back where it belongs.  The graphics are good, but I just enjoy playing the game.  Unfortunately, it seems time speeds up while I’m playing and before I know it, hours have gone by.  Hours whereby I could have been reading. 

The fourth thing is – we saw Alex  Cross yesterday.  Great Movie!  I’ve not seen Tyler Perry in any previous movie (not a comedy fan) so watching him act out my fav detective Alex Cross was a treat.  I have read all of James Patterson’s Alex Cross books but it’s been at least two years so it was a fresh treat to actually see the beginnings of Cross’s life on the big screen.  I’ll have to go back and read Cross again.  If you’re a Patterson fan, don’t read what the critics are saying.  Just go and watch Perry bring Cross to life.  It’s a good movie, rated PG-13 mostly for the violence. 

Lastly, I want to give a shout out to my friend, Alida.  She’s the librarian at my little neighborhood library and she’s a ball of fire.  This past weekend she spearheaded the library’s first birthday and it turned into a real party, complete with cake, barbecue, live band, silent auction and books, books, books.  We had a ball.  Alida, this one’s for you!  Thank you for all your hard work and your wonderful friendship.  I’ve met a kindred spirit and I’ve not had as much fun in years!

Happy Wednesday, everyone!  Pick up a book at your local library and chill.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in general

Leave a Reply

